In 2014, there were over 13,898,347 licensed drivers in the state of Florida alone. Additionally, millions more travel to the sunshine state by car every year.
With so many motorists on the road, it’s important to know the laws of operating a motor vehicle in Florida. Whether you’re traveling to Disney World, the Everglades, or another Florida destination, knowing these laws will ensure that you get there safely.
Read on for five of the most important things to know about driving in Florida!
1. Obtaining a Driver’s License
The driving age in Florida is 15. If you are between the ages of 15 and 18, you must hold a permit for 12 months or until you are 18 years old before applying for a driver’s license.
To obtain a permit, you must complete a four-hour drug and alcohol course along with vision and hearing exams, and you must pass a knowledge test.
You must also provide your passport or birth certificate, your Social Security Number, proof of address, and a parent consent form. A completed parent proctoring form is also mandatory if the knowledge test is being taken online.
If you are 18 years of age older, you must apply for a Class E driver’s license rather than a permit. You will take the Florida driving test to obtain this license.
2. Following Insurance Laws
Before driving in Florida, you should be aware of the state’s insurance laws.
Driving without insurance in Florida is illegal, and doing so may get your license suspended or revoked.
There is a large number of specific insurance laws and regulations that apply to motorists in Florida. Take a look here for a more detailed explanation of these laws.
3. How Long a License Is Valid For
A Class E or noncommercial driving license in Florida is valid for eight years for people under 80 years old. For people over 79, a Class E driver’s license is valid for six years before it must be renewed.
To renew an expired driver’s license, motorists must pay a $48 renewal fee.
4. Abiding by Posted Speed Limits
You should also be aware of the speed-related driving laws in Florida. On interstates, the posted speed limit is 70 miles per hour.
On four-lane divided highways outside of urban areas, (or areas with a population greater than 5,000) the posted speed limit is 65 miles per hour.
On all other state highways, the posted speed limit is 60 miles per hour.
In Florida, you can be pulled over for driving too slow, which disturbs traffic and poses a threat to other motorists on the roadway. To avoid this, keep up with the flow of traffic and maintain safe distances in front of and behind other motorists.
5. Renting a Car
To rent a car in Florida, you must either be at least 21 years old or have someone who is at least 21 years old in the car with you. Some rental car agencies will charge you a higher rate if you are under 25.
Before you obtain the keys to a rental car, you must provide your driver’s license, passport, and credit card.
Most agencies allow drivers to pick up and drop off cars at different locations, but check with your agency for specific instructions. You can also ask for toll charges to transfer to the card on file, which is called a toll-by-plate collection system.
And if you’re into luxury cars and you want to rent one in Florida, you can consider renting at The Forza Club. They have a variety of cars, from luxury to exotic cars.
Understand These Rules Before Driving in Florida
Whether it’s your first time or your 100th time driving in Florida, it’s always important to know the rules of the road before getting behind the wheel.
We hope this countdown has aided your understanding of how to operate a motor vehicle legally in the sunshine state!
For more information about how to use safe and legal driving practices, check out our other guides under the insurance tab of our homepage!