Florida is a great state for motorcycle riders. The weather is perfect for riding almost year-round, and there are plenty of scenic routes to take. However, if you’re planning on hitting the open road in Florida, there’s one important thing you need to know – the state motorcycle Helmet Laws.
In Florida, motorcycle riders are required to wear a helmet that meets DOT standards and should have at least $10,000 worth of medical benefits coverage. In fact, failure to wear a helmet while operating or riding a motorcycle can result in serious fines if you’re below 21 years
Anyone who has ever gone on a long drive will tell you that your body (and mind) will often become tired and yearn for a break. A motorcycle trip is more intense than going on a long road trip in your car because your body takes the full force of the movement of the bike – not to mention that you’re exposed to different types of weather while riding. So before you strap on your boots and rev up your engine, make sure you’re fully aware of the Florida helmet laws.
Does Florida Require Motorcycle Helmets?
For under age 21 motorcyclists (including mopeds) it’s compulsory to wear either a DOT-compliant helmet or face fines. Motorcycle helmets must meet certain DOT standards, including one of three approved designs: the types are known as “full-face” and “open-face.”
Florida state law doesn’t require riders above 21 to wear helmets but demands that they have, at the minimum, medical insurance coverage of $10,000.
Indeed, motorcycle helmet use isn’t mandatory in Florida – however, this doesn’t mean you should disregard your safety completely. In fact, most riders choose to wear some sort of head protection while riding a two-wheeled motorcycle, whether it’s on the open road or just around town.
The state of Florida is also known as one of the worst when it comes to motorcycle helmet-related injuries. In 2011, there were 27 fatalities and 341 injuries that involved motorcyclists – with only 20% of those riders wearing helmets at the time of the accident. Unfortunately, this number is on the rise.
If you haven’t worn one before, it is recommended that you get yourself one before you consider riding with others around town or going on long road trips.
To help with this decision, the Helmet Law website provides indispensable information about each state’s helmet laws. From there, you’ll be able to read about what gear you’ll have to wear or show proof of ownership for when you get stopped by law enforcement. In addition to state requirements, there are some local laws that riders need to be aware of before taking off for their next adventure on two wheels.
It’s important to remember that while wearing a helmet isn’t required in Florida, there are plenty of reasons why you might want to do so. It reduces the chance of critical head injuries and can also prevent other serious accidents from happening in the event of an accident. Studies also found that wearing a motorcycle helmet could help make up for some of your physical limitations when it comes to riding a bike.